Overview‎ > ‎

Programme Structure

The MAP-tele Doctoral Programme in Telecommunications consists of a first curricular year (starting in the fall and divided into two semesters) followed by a period of 2 to 3 years dedicated to research leading to the PhD thesis.

Each edition of the Program is dedicated to a specific scientific theme - the theme for the current edition Broadband Multimedia Communications.

The curricular year features three mandatory courses, Digital Communications Systems, Communications Networks and a Thematic Learning Unit, which may vary in each edition according to its scientific theme. Beyond the mandatory courses, the students are offered a number of optional courses covering advanced topics in Telecommunications. For the list of optional courses please see each edition's page.

This first curricular year offers a strong laboratory component in the areas of optical communications, wireless communications and communications networks, using the facilities of the research institutes and departments associated with the Program. The graduate students are expected to take some credits in matters not directly related to their field of study. Also included is a graduate seminar with lectures by international experts and working visits to MAP associated research centers and laboratories.

In the first year, the student must choose his topic of dissertation from a list of possible research projects. Based on this choice, the student must prepare his thesis proposal, which includes an extensive review of the state of the art, a set of detailed objectives and methods, and outline of potential contributions and a roadmap to achieve them. The thesis proposal should be delivered up to 18 months after starting the program.

Following this curricular year, which is worth 60 credits in the European Credit Transfer System (ECTS), and which includes the elaboration of a thesis proposal (12 ECTS), the graduate student enters the research and thesis development phase, which lasts for 2 to 3 years and corresponds to at least 120 ECTS.

In terms of organization, the MAP universities agreed upon a general model, in which the curricular part is taught entirely in one of the institutions, rotating every year between Minho, Aveiro and Porto. Each student receives individual guidance by a mentor, who suggests a supervisor and possibly a co-supervisor. Beyond the regular thesis supervision, the student's progress will be monitored by a PhD committee consisting of two other recognized experts in the field, one of which from an outside institution. Submission of the thesis and thesis defense follow standard international practice. A student will be awarded a doctorate, in the form of a joint PhD degree by the Universities of Minho, Aveiro and Porto, if his thesis is judged to represent an original contribution to knowledge in the chosen area.